New Amsterdam Market

Last Sunday morning I was pleasantly greeted with newly shucked oysters, artisanal cheeses, homemade pastas, organic vegetables, rustic breads, and other coveted specialty foods at the New Amsterdam Market on South Street. With only four markets per season, this wonderful market of delightful fare was overflowing with local residents by noon. Everyone looking for the same thing… the best local produce the tri-state area has to offer.

My favorite vendors were

Basis Foods, selling local produce at affordable prices

Saxelby Cheeses, mouth-watering cheese that will literally melt your pockets (its just that expensive)

The Ravioli Store, dozens of homemade pastas you just can’t pass up

Taza Chocolate, just try their vanilla chocolate rounds-yum!

Porchetta, the best damn pork sandwich out there

The Bent Spoon, all I can say is… Ricotta Ice Cream

New Amsterdam Market Oysters

New Amsterdam Market Garlic

New Amsterdam Market Taza Chocolate

New Amsterdam Market Homemade Pasta

3 Responses

  1. Hi Jessica,
    Thanks for sharing your photos and favorite vendors from the New Amsterdam market. Just marked down the next 3 event dates on my calendar 🙂 Will just have visit the original Princeton Bent Spoon in the meantime (I still haven’t tried their famous ricotta ice cream – they never have it every time I’ve gone!)

  2. Jessica,

    I was at the New Amsterdam Market today too…I love it there; I wish I knew you were going…we could have met up…but I’m thrilled to meet you out in San Fran at the Foodbuzz Festival…you have a wonderful blog and I look forward to meeting a fellow NYC blogger!!!! Perhaps we can try to meet up before we head out to San Fran…..
    Have a great night and glad you enjoyed the market today, as well.

    Best,
    Amie

  3. Everything looks so fresh and delicious!

Leave a Reply

