Bay Shore Fare

After getting stuck in about two plus hours of traffic heading out to Fire Island, my friends and I had JUST missed the ferry. Given that the next ferry heading out to Ocean Beach was two hours and twenty five minutes away, we had an opportunity to try some of Bay Shore’s local fare. And at that moment, there was nothing I wanted more than a warm cup of New England Clam Chowder from Molly Malones

Molly Malone's New England Clam Chowder

 How we decided on Molly Malones, I’n not quite sure. Maybe because it had the most obnoxious green sign or because they serve Irish American Cuisine which made me quite skeptical. After all, I’m always up for a culinary adventure. But after perusing the menu, the only thing Irish about the place was Corned Beef and Cabbage sandwich which I could have sworn is a Jewish dish, but who can really be sure?

Molly Malones specializes in seafood, but also serves up a bizarre assortment of standard American dishes like chicken & turkey blt sandwiches and Italian classics like chicken parmigian. But despite the diverse cuisine, odd decor, and large families dominating in dining room, the food was pretty good all around, and especially the New England Clam Chowder!!!

Molly Malone's New England Clam Chowder

 Molly Malones New England Clam Chowder was creamy, clamy, and delicious! And if I wasn’t planning on laying out on the beach all weekend, I would have devoured three more cups! But as for my main course, not so much… For the first time in a while, I ordered wrong. Anything but the Turkey Club probably would have been the better choice, but I went with my gut. And at 8pm on a rainy Thursday night my gut was saying Turkey Club.

Molly Malone's Turkey Club

Don’t get me wrong, the sandwich was good. The bread was nicely toasted, the bacon perfectly crisp, and they even put the mayo on the side without me asking! But it was  just not as good as the chicken parmigian and the grilled chicken sandwich my friends ordered.

Molly Malone's Chicken Parmigiana

Molly Malone's Grilled Chicken Sandwich

I believe these pictures speak for themselves. So if you’re stuck at the Bay Shore ferry with some time to kill, check out Molly Malones. From the chicken parmigian to the clam chowder, it’s tough to go wrong. Though I’ve also heard Nicky’s clam bar dishes out a tasty soft shell crab sandwich. The choice is up to you my friend.

MOLLY MALONES

124 Maple Avenue

Bay Shore, NY 11706

4 Responses

  1. […] This post was Twitted by jessicahartley – Real-url.org […]

  2. Good article,

    You are going to have to get Nicky’s clam chowda next time and compare.

    I like Nicky’s a little better

  3. Hey! I stubmled upon your blog after reading Midtown Lunch…try Tallulah’s for some awesome food to go on the way to the ferry….and I agree with Adam, head over to Nicky’s…

    • Thanks for the suggestion Liz! Also, my roommate who is also a marathon runner suggested I write an article on favorite power foods for runners. Do you have any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

