Kitchen Sink Chicken Salad

chicken-salad-lea-009This recipe is one of 7 ways you can prepare the leftovers from a 7lb chicken. You’d be suprised by how much you can do with a well-cooked roasted chicken! Since the breasts of the roast chicken I had made were so tender, I knew that I needed to make them the star of my next dish.

So I named this recipe Kitchen Sink Salad because I literally used whatever I had lying around my kitchen. I also kind of borrowed the name from Chat ‘n’ Chew’s Kitchen Sink Salad because I liked it so much!

In the notes below, I suggested some alternatives to the ingredients I used to accomodate different flavor preferences. Since it’s pretty difficult to mess up a chicken salad, I definitely recommend this recipe for beginners. And please note that this recipe is designed for one LARGE serving so if you’re making it for more than one be sure to increase the vegetables and chicken used.

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 tbsp fat-free sour cream
  • 1/2 teaspoon dijon mustard
  • 2 tablespoons chopped nuts (pecans, walnuts, or almonds)
  • 1 celery rib, chopped
  • 1 cup (approx) cooked chopped chicken breast
  • 1 shallot, chopped (or 2 tbsps red/green onion)
  • 2 tbsp raisins (or 1/8 cup havled grapes)
  • 1/4 cup chopped apple or pear
  • 1 tsp dill (optional)

PREPARATIONS

  1. Mix the sour cream and mustard in a small bowl and put to the side.
  2. Combine the remaining ingredients in a large bowl. Toss with the sour cream & mustard mixture.
  3. Serve on a bed of mixed greens or between multi-grain toast.
One Response

  1. Hey Jessica,
    I make my chicken salad almost the same way, except I do add a teensy bit of mayonnaise (lightened by some sour cream of course).

    Also, I tried getting to your foodbuzz profile to write on your chalkboard by clicking on your featured publisher badge and got an error. Just thought you might want to check your html script from foodbuzz. So I’m leaving my comment on this post instead – are you going to the Hot Dog Hootenanny at Astor Place on Sunday? I’m out of town so I can’t make it but I thought you might be interested!

Leave a Reply

