Matzoh Pies, The Latest In New Israeli Food

matzohpieMatzoh Pies… yes, I did say Matzoh Pies. Yesterday’s kugel is today’s pie according to well, me and probably Janna Gur author of “The Book of New Israeli Food” and the chef behind this immaculate Passover masterpiece.

It is possible that I tend to appreciate food more than others but I was taken aback by the beauty of this Mina del Pesach (Passover Matzoh Pie). Though this Passover Matzoh Pie is a variation of a Shepard’s Pie, it obviously took time to mold each piece of Matzoh to appear as if it were an actual pie. A work of genius, I’m telling you!

And I can assure you that Passover Matzoh Pie is not the only thing we’ll be seeing from Janna Gur.  In “New Israeli Food,” Gur discusses diverse Jewish cultures – Sephardic, Ashkenazic – and other influences that make up Israeli cooking today. Gur claims that most of the upscale restaurants in Israel are a mix between Israeli and Mediterannean cuisines, so why shouldn’t we be reflecting that blending here in America?

The Boston Globe article portrays Gur as an incredibly interesting woman and a true culinary innovator. I look forward to uncovering additional recipes in “The Book of New Israeli Food: A Culinary Journey” and trying out Gur’s Passover Matzoh Pie (with all of my leftover matzoh).

To replicate Gur’s Passover Matzoh Pie yourself visit the Boston Globe website here.

One Response

  1. Oohhh Yummy.. thanks for sharing this.. I will make some next year… Hope I can make it… Chag Pesach!!!

    Why don’t you check my passover story…

    Gabriel Azoulay
    whyraw.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

